88th SFS named 2018 Verne Orr Award winner

JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-RANDOLPH, Texas (AFNS) -- Air Force officials recently named the 88th Security Forces Squadron at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, as the winner of the 2018 Air Force Association Verne Orr Award.

The AFA established this award in honor of former Secretary of the Air Force Verne Orr to recognize mission-oriented accomplishments and achievements by units that made the most effective use of human resources.

The 88th SFS has approximately 400 defenders who are providing continuous protection, security and safety for the installation 24/7 year-round and recently earned the 2016 Air Force Materiel Command Large Security Force Unit Award for its achievements in providing outstanding service.

AFA representatives will present the award during their 2018 Air & Space Conference and Technology Exposition this September in Washington, DC.

For more information about Air Force awards, visit http://www.afpc.af.mil/Recognition/.